Ebonyi senator, ex-minister, 13 others dump PDP for APC 

The senator representing Ebonyi South Senatorial District in the National Assembly, Sonni Ogbuoji, an ex-Minister of State for Power and Steel, Goddy Ogbaga and 13 others on Saturday defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defectors announced their decision during a rally organized by the state chapter of the APC in honour of President Muhammadu Buhari and the party’s National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

Addressing the defectors and other party members at the rally held in Abakaliki, the state capital, Oshiomhole commended Ogbuoji and other defectors for what he described as their bold initiative to leave the PDP for the APC.

READ ALSO  Protesters Storm APC Headquarters, Call For Oshiomhole's Resignation

“We now have an elected senator, Chief Sonni Ogbuoji, who has decided that the PDP’s umbrella is shredded that it can no longer protect anyone. He has now joined the progressives.

“He has watched the determination of the APC-led Federal Government to flush out all crises inflicted on the country by the immediate past administration of the PDP,” Oshiomhole said.

Earlier, in his speech, the Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, noted that the people of Ebonyi State had resolved to align themselves with the APC and would vote for President Buhari in 2019.

READ ALSO  Meet Dr Zainab Gimba, the only woman who reportedly won APC ticket in the whole of Borno State

“If the elections are conducted today in Ebonyi State, the APC will clinch all the elective offices at the wards, local government and state levels,” Onu said.

Related posts

Adex Pick up APC form

Oluwa Seun

Lagos 2019: Governor Ambode flies to Abuja to beg Tinubu


#Osunrerun: Commotion in Osogbo unit over gunshots


Leave a Comment